Update on the grieving process, E K-R and DABDA

You might have read my comparison between my own grieving process and the Eliz Kubler-Ross model (in the Pit and the Process). Well, here’s an update. With the vision of hindsight, I can now see that I’ve been through three clear stages:

1: Searing Pain (July, Aug, Sept)
2: Broken-heartedness (Sept, Oct, Nov)
3: Enlivenment (Nov, Dec)

I guess #s 1 and 2 are E K-R’s “depression” and 3 is her “acceptance”. Still little sign of anger.

Of course, there were, and still are, lots and lots of smaller cycles within that.

Leave a Reply